MINUTES OF THE EAST CASCADES AUDUBON SOCIETY BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

August 6, 2019

<u>Attendance and Quorum:</u> Present were Tom Lawler, Diane Burgess, Terri Hyde, Diana Roberts, Bob Sizoo, Garrett Durheim, and Gordon Wetzel. A quorum was present throughout the board meeting. Tom Penpraze was absent.

Meeting called to order at 1:00 pm.

The July 2, 2019 Board Meeting minutes were approved.

- 1. Speaker choices were discussed for the upcoming Sunriver Nature Center event which is cosponsored by ECAS. These names were shared: Rosemary Mosco, Laura Erickson, Sneed Collard and Sharon Stiteler.
- 2. Diana Roberts will not be up for re-election to the Board per her request. She will continue to assist with ECAS publicity.
- 3. Terri shared financials. The Dean Hale Woodpecker Festival had a net profit of \$6,558. Last year's net profit was \$5,563. The Calvert Fund was up \$900 from July.
- 4. The Board discussed planning for this year's Annual Event. The date is Friday, October 18. It will be held at the Pine Forest Grange from 6 pm to 9 pm. Harry Fuller will be the speaker. His topic will be Great Gray Owls. He will have books to sell. Stu Garrett will do a short presentation about his Sage Grouse project. Recognition will be given to Volunteer of the Year, Conservationist of the Year, and others. There will be a Year in Review slideshow. Coffee, tea, water, and desserts will be provided.
- 5. Diana wants to form an ECAS Adult Education Committee for birding classes. Diane and Bob volunteered to assist.
- 6. Tom L asked if he could state ECAS support for environmental issues without email responses from Board members. He receives many of these requests. The Board wants to continue seeing these requests. But, those requests sought with very short notice and supported by environmental groups can be approved by Tom L as ECAS president without waiting for email responses from the Board.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:52 pm.

The minutes were taken and prepared for distribution to the board by Diane Burgess, ECAS Secretary.

Approved at the Board Meeting of September 3, 2019.